Humans in Healthcare #21 | The rise of the Clinician Generalist

and how they are competitive advantages for health tech start ups

Hey there, how are you?

For this šŸ—„ļø Resources for Humans (in healthcare) edition, I am sharing more about the rise of the clinician generalist.

Enjoy!

What is a clinician generalist?

About a year ago, I labeled myself as ā€œthe clinician generalistā€.

Given my broad background that started in medicine and transitioned into health tech startups wearing multiple hats and working in many different roles, the label came out of feeling like I didnā€™t quite fit anywhere in medicine or business.

It helped me find my identity in the professional world.

Many of you have reached out to share stories of how you donā€™t feel like you fit anywhere either. So, I think this might resonate with you, too.

What is a generalist, you might ask?

A generalist is a person who is competent in several different fields, holds many skill sets, and can perform a wide range of duties.

What is a clinician generalist?

A clinician who infuses clinical excellence, expertise, and rigor into health/tech businesses and startups while using transferable skills to function and excel in non-clinical roles.

(You wonā€™t find that in a dictionary, though šŸ˜‰)

How a clinician generalist can thrive in health tech

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Humans in Healthcare to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now

Reply

or to participate.