Humans in Healthcare: Chapter 19

The opposite of hate isn't love, it's indifference

Hey there, human, how are you?

This newsletter format will be different from previous formats.

Like many of you, I’ve been attempting to process the events happening in Israel in parallel to watching the debate, love, and hate displayed on social media and in communities near and far.

As I shared last week, I am deeply troubled. In last week’s newsletter, I wondered out loud about where our humanity is going and the wondering has certainly escalated this week.

I struggle to understand the indifference to suffering, at times.

I struggle to understand the world in which I am raising my children.

My heart weeps for lives lost, the literal erosion of the human soul.

This isn’t an opinion piece. I won’t pretend to be fully informed or educated on the history and what is happening today. I do not have the generational lived experience that my Jewish friends do. I cannot possibly comprehend or understand how they feel, nor that of the innocent Palestinians who are unwilling participants in the destruction of their own lives.

But I can listen.

And I can share some things that are helping me stay grounded as a sensitive soul, empath, and human who is not indifferent to suffering, in light of the horrific events.

Below you will find:

  • 3 quotes 

  • 2 resources 

  • 1 poem 

The quotes aren’t meant to be used as a motivational toxic positive play that quotes can sometimes be — rather, as anchors to ground ourselves in the midst of swirling pain, fear, anxiety, confusion, and grief. And perhaps, a call to action or to more curiosity, courage, and compassion. I love quotes in this way and many have had a profound impact in certain seasons in my life (I admit that I am a collector of quotes).

The resources offer some perspective — one on the events happening and the other about how to process them as a highly sensitive individual (👋 ).

And lastly, a poem because as poet Audre Lorde said “poetry is not only dream and vision; it is the skeleton architecture of our lives. It lays the foundations for a future of change, a bridge across our fears of what has never been before.”

Please take time to reflect on this shorter, but deeply rich read — full of heart, soul, and humanity.

And know that I am thinking of you, us, together as a community.

Let’s not be indifferent.

3 quotes

Human suffering anywhere concerns men and women everywhere

Elie Wiesel

The opposite of love is not hate, it's indifference. The opposite of art is not ugliness, it's indifference. The opposite of faith is not heresy, it's indifference. And the opposite of life is not death, it's indifference.

Elie Wiesel

There is something in the human spirit that will survive and prevail, there is a tiny and brilliant light burning in the human heart that will not go out no matter how dark the world becomes.

Leo Tolstoy

2 resources

The first resource is from Tzvi Doron, DO. We are collaborators in this mission of Humans in Healthcare and I also consider him a friend. He is the first person I reached out to when I heard of the Hamas attacks and I am sharing his perspective.

✍️ Tzvi writes

I am an Orthodox Jew and a doctor, but I decided to write about neither of those things. I wanted these messages to be universal because I believe that humans share so much in the human experience and our commonalities are often greater than our differences.

I’ve gotten private messages from many people of different races, religions, genders, and professions. It has been gratifying to make even a small difference in people’s lives. I never planned to write something on this blog like I am sharing today. However, there are times in life when we must speak the clear eyed truth. In light of the massacre committed by Hamas on October 7, 2023, I am sharing my thoughts on the matter with you below.

The second resource is by Brittainy Lindsey, LMHC, whom I’ve loved learning from. Brittainy’s writing speaks directly to my soul. As a highly sensitive person, Brittainy’s article on navigating overstimulation has been a helpful guide to honoring my own processing and emotions in this turmoil while finding a sense of balance and resilience within.

✍️ Brittainy writes:

One approach is to somatically (soma = body) experience these sensations, grounding ourselves with the present moment, and honoring the full spectrum of our emotional experiences. In this post, we'll explore a quick, yet structured approach to somatic experiencing, reminding us that being more connected to our own feelings leaves us better equipped to work (and play) with life's sensational moments.

1 Poem

The Peace of Wild Things

When despair for the world grows in me
and I wake in the night at the least sound
in fear of what my life and my children’s lives may be,
I go and lie down where the wood drake
rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds.
I come into the peace of wild things
who do not tax their lives with forethought
of grief. I come into the presence of still water.
And I feel above me the day-blind stars
waiting with their light. For a time
I rest in the grace of the world, and am free.

Wendell Berry

In humanity,

Amy

P.S. don’t hesitate to reach out if you need someone to process with. We aren’t meant to do it alone.

Reply

or to participate.