Humans in Healthcare: Chapter #4

What's your story, Amy Story? Part 1

Hey there!

Thanks again for your support as I work to bring you stories of healthcare professionals, patients, and caregivers and build a community of humans in healthcare.

Quick update:

I’m planning to structure this newsletter as a weekly(ish) Sunday publication with rotating themes subject to evolve

💜 Dose of Humanity: a story, interview, or narrative of the lived experiences and stories of healthcare professionals, patients, and caregivers to remind us of our shared humanity

Clinician Creator Spotlight: showcasing clinicians beyond their credentials, sharing their experiences, creative process, and lessons learned, to inspire the next generation of clinician creators in using their clinical skills in creative ways

✍️ Stories from Amy (Story): my thoughts to your inbox. I’m known for my real, raw, and honest approach that makes you think and also inspires

🗄️ Resources for humans (in healthcare): a helpful resource or special treat! Planning to reverse engineer the hiring process for healthcare professionals for part of it…stay tuned

What are you most looking forward to reading?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

When people learn my last name (Story), I’m usually met with the question: What’s your story, Amy Story?

So, for today’s Chapter#4: What’s your Story, Amy Story?, I’m sharing a bit about my story and how it led me to launch Humans in Healthcare. This will be a 3 part series shared over the next 3 Sundays. I have a lot of layers 😅 

This series is primarily through the professional lens. My personal stories will be woven into future episodes as the newsletter matures.

I thank you in advance for allowing me to take up space in your inbox. Allowing myself to be seen is how I can see you, too.

⚠️ Before you read you should know…

I am a truth teller, not a fluff seller. I don’t shy away from talking about hard things. Understandably, it might cause some discomfort. I ask you to reserve judgment and embrace curiosity as I take you through the journey of my story, understanding that my truth might be different than yours. At the end, you may just find that we are more similar than we are different.

Part 1:

A bit about me

👋 My name is Amy Story. I’m a mother to two beautiful children, a wife, sister to 3 siblings, one of whom has Down Syndrome and Autism, a surthrivor (yes, you read that right…I like to make up my own definitions and surviving ↔️ thriving is a continuum) of a 10 year struggle with Anorexia Nervosa, depression, and anxiety, a sensitive and strong person, wise and still learning, principled and adaptable, deeply reflective and a bias toward action, extroverted introvert, fierce and tender, petite, yet I take up space...

At the core, I’m a very wholehearted, perfectly imperfect person. You’ll see that infused through what I share here.

While my professional journey ended up in healthcare, it didn’t actually start there.

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Humans in Healthcare to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now

Reply

or to participate.