Humans in Healthcare: Chapter #8

Clinician Creator Spotlight with Alexis Williams, RD

Hi there!

Starting off with gratitude and thanks for your support as I build this community of Humans in Healthcare with you šŸ™. Thanks for adding your voice to this space. Keep speaking and sharing. Iā€™m listening.

Todayā€™s episode is the first ever āœØ Clinician Creator Spotlight āœØ featuring Alexis Williams, RD, MAN.

Alexis and I have similar passions as both of our journeys started in healthcare and have since ventured outside of it to business and entrepreneurship. Through this journey, weā€™ve both recognized the lack of business training and up-skilling for healthcare professionals. Alexis has set out to solve this common problem through content, course creation, and coaching services. Youā€™ll hear about that in just a minute, but first, some background on Alexisā€¦

Alexis has spent her career helping organizations define and scale consumer health programs. She is experienced in health and wellness program innovation, development and operation. Alexis is a graduate of the undergrad and Masters nutrition program at the University of Guelph and has been a Registered Dietitian for 19 years. The first part of her career included many clinical roles as well as a focus on sports nutrition and she completed the IOC Diploma in Sports Nutrition. In 2011 Alexis took on a role at Loblaw to develop an in-store Dietitian program. She built this team over 10 years to be a national program offering in-store and virtual services employing over 90 dietitians across the country. Alexis is now a partner with Precium Consulting Group, leading their health and wellness practice. She is also the co-founder of Business Skills for Health Professionals, a coaching, education and community for health professionals seeking to build business skills for pursuing careers in the business and industry world.

šŸ›‘ And before you dive in to Alexisā€™s story, here is a key to follow along easily:

Blue text is a question prompt from me

Anything here is a direct quote from Alexis

At the end, Alexis will offer her call to courage for clinicians wanting to step into the creator life

Here is Alexisā€™s creator journey!

Enjoy āœØ

Alexis, youā€™ve built an incredible career that has spanned 20 years, starting as a Registered Dietitian, to working in retail nutrition, to becoming an entrepreneur. Tell us how you arrived to healthcare.

Iā€™m a registered dietitian, heading into my 20th year in practice! Itā€™s hard to believe this, time has flown by in life and career. Iā€™m a Canadian from just west of Toronto, Ontario, a sports enthusiast, and mom to two little boys.

I grew up with a family who struggled with obesity and diabetes and this was my early motivation into the nutrition field. In grade 8, I wanted to own a health spa where people could go to get healthy.

When I first became a dietitian, I really wanted a career in sports nutrition. I worked in quite a few traditional dietitian roles doing a variety of outpatient counseling for a few years, while doing private practice sports nutrition on the side. I was into triathlons and most of my practice was triathletes and endurance athletes. I completed an ironman šŸ’Ŗ in 2009 and then got a bit bored of the sport, and stopped racing. Since then Iā€™ve taken up skiing, mountain biking and kept up moderate levels of swimming, cycling and running.

Around this time I started getting into retail nutrition. I was working for a vendor of Canadaā€™s largest grocery chain, Loblaw, running a dietitian and pharmacist health promotion program from 2007 to 2009. The funding for this was cut and I found myself leaning into building my business for the next few years. These years were fun and pre-social media, pre-online businesses, so most of my work was in person 1:1 counseling, and speaking at camps and events.

In 2011 an opportunity to return to Loblaw came about, and I decided it was time for a change and accepted a full time director position where my mandate was nutrition programming for the company. I started an in-store dietitian program as well as managed a nutrition scoring system called Guiding Stars.

Over the 10 years I spent there, there were many directional and business priority changes and my role evolved. When I left in 2021, I had a team of over 90 dietitians and was involved in many aspects of health and wellness for the company, including digital, in-store and telehealth services.

One of my main challenges which inspired me to create Business Skills for Health Professionals is that while I had great clinical and nutrition knowledge, I lacked the basic business skills for working in the retail environment. I learned things like finance, marketing, and ROI somewhat the hard way, with a lot of trial and error. I wish Iā€™d had a guide and training to help me along this journey which is why I created what we have today.

In addition, my time in retail showed me the value of having health professionals working in business. I was able to build quality, evidence-based programs and services that helped improve health care in Canada. I was also able to provide input on strategy and the health and wellness direction of the company. This experience has led to my belief that the more health professionals we have working in business and industry, the better products and services will be created, having a positive impact on health.

ALEXIS

Now you are on a mission help healthcare professionals learn the skills of business, through courses, content, and coaching. Tell us your journey toward becoming a creator.

After 10 years at my role at Loblaw, I was itching to get back into the entrepreneurial space. I wanted to create and be responsible for my own destiny again.

I contacted one of my former colleagues, Melanie Byland who had gone on to pursue her MBA. We discussed how many health professionals who want to get into business see getting an MBA as their only option. An MBA is great, but for many of us who already have paid for a masters degree, itā€™s just not a financially viable option. We decided to create a series of courses that could provide health professionals with a high level business education, to set them off on the right foot. We started prototyping with just running a simple webinar to gauge interest. I mainly promoted on LinkedIn and Facebook groups. After we had early success with the webinar, we took the feedback from the webinars and started building out our program. During this time, I was also getting a lot of requests for career transition support for health professionals who wanted help with their resumes, LinkedIn, and networking. I leaned into this and started supporting them and created this as a service our business offers.

I was motivated by the many creators Iā€™ve discovered on LinkedIn as well as by an early coach I worked with, Ingo Rauth. Ingo ran a course called Life Design which is all about exploring your life and prototyping careers you think you may want. One of the biggest learnings from working with Ingo was the concept of prototyping. Before jumping into a career, find ways to test it out easily and cheaply, so you can see whether youā€™ll even like it and if there is a market for what you want to do. This allowed me to get past the hurdle of being stuck in strategy and move into action by running some simple webinars.

ALEXIS

What are the challenges and opportunities of being a clinician creator?

Sometimes it can be challenging to continue to put out content when the engagement isnā€™t as high as Iā€™d like it to be. But I try to continually show up as I know it takes time.

I donā€™t currently see patients but Iā€™ve toyed with the idea of getting back into that but Iā€™m wary of how much energy that can consume. So for now itā€™s a TBD.

I think there is a huge opportunity with clinicians being creators and Iā€™ve seen this growing, especially in innovative tools for other clinicians. Who better to create for clinicians than clinicians themselves?

In working with other entrepreneurs over the past several months, Iā€™ve realized I have some mindset issues to overcome as it relates to money. My liming belief is that the only way to have financial success is being employed full time. Iā€™ve been doing some energy clearing work in this space as well as reading books on this topic to work through it.

ALEXIS

Interactive reader poll: Do you struggle to define financial success beyond traditional paths of employment?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

What is your creative process like?

I find my time outdoors is most valuable for my creative side. I tend to think of ideas and the biggest challenge is remembering them when I get home. I donā€™t typically listen to music or bring my phone which I find helps my creative thinking. Iā€™m a morning person and I try to stay off my phone for the first hour of my day. Iā€™m not too rigid with what I do with this time but itā€™s a combination of journaling, activity, reading, meditation and sound therapy. Sometimes I use this time to work if my day doesnā€™t allow as much work time (e.g., in the summer or holidays when kids are home more).

Some practical things Iā€™ve learned about are how to use LinkedIn for business, the importance of SEO, and a bunch of tech tools like course platforms and website tools. I do find the tech part of being an entrepreneur challenging, but I try to embrace and take advantage of tools to teach like ChatGPT and YouTube videos.

ALLEXIS

What do you hope to accomplish through what youā€™re building? What bridges do you want to build in healthcare?

I want to help clinicians know there are many opportunities out there for them career-wise. I want companies to hire more clinicians and for them to be more business savvy as well as bringing their healthcare expertise.

I have built a LinkedIn group to share resources, job postings, and I do career journey interviews so clinicians can inspire others to pursue different paths. The best support that this community can provide is engagement with content and spreading the word.

ALEXIS

What lessons learned can you share with other clinicians on this journey?

Find the pain points of other clinicians and use a design thinking, user centered design approach to create. Take a big idea and figure out the easiest, cheapest, simplest way to prototype your idea in public.

ALEXIS

What is your call to courage for clinicians wanting to create or build something?

CALL TO COURAGE

If you are thinking of becoming a creator, try starting small. Writing a blog or posting regularly on LinkedIn/social, running a webinar, or simply engaging with others content in this space. We often over complicate our business ideas and get stuck in strategy without any action to move us forward. Take messy action and donā€™t overthink it.

It doesnā€™t have to be complicated. Start with something simple and see if it gains traction. It might take a few attempts but donā€™t give up if youā€™re getting positive feedback.

ALEXIS

Thank you, Alexis, for sharing your journey and inspiring the next generation of clinician creators!

To get connected with Alexis šŸ¤ 

Be sure to check out Bizskillsforhps where Alexis and her business partner run The Master Course, a 5 course series that give you a foundational business knowledge, geared toward health professionals.

Alexis also runs a free private LinkedIn community for health professionals where we share job postings, resources and do career journey interviews with other health professionals. Any health professional can request to join the community.

Thanks for reading! If you are interested in sharing your story, let me know here.

This is as much your space as it is mine. I want to elevate and empower you by sharing your story. This could be about your story as a healthcare professional, patient journey, caregiving experience, or how you are using your clinical skills in creative ways. If you have a story to share, want to be featured, or want to collaborate, I invite you to let me know here! 

And stay tuned for much, much more to comeā€¦

PS. asking for help is not easy, but Iā€™m shooting my shot:

1ļøāƒ£ Please give Humans in Healthcare on LinkedIn a follow! Iā€™ll be posting thought provoking questions there and would love for you to join in the dialogue. Much more to come on the community front.

2ļøāƒ£ I would love for you to share my newsletter with others. The more bridges we build, the more sustainable healthcare can become for me and for you.

Reply

or to participate.