Humans in Healthcare: Stories, she wrote

You can't rush your healing

Hey there,

I’ve decided to try out publishing “off book chapters” as a way to continue to write and share outside of the weekly publication of this newsletter. In an effort to not clutter your inbox outside of the weekly publication, these off book chapters will only be published to the web version of the newsletter.

They are still important chapters, even if off book.

See, something I’ve learned in my life is, if I’m thinking about someone or there is a story on my heart, the best thing I can do is share it.

Someone needs to hear my story as much as I need to tell it.

And it’s the same for you.

And, I’ve been thinking of all of you, as a community of Humans in Healthcare.

So, I’m sharing a few things on my heart with you today.

I hope you give it a read. I hope it helps. I hope you know how much I care about you and this mission.

Thank you. I’ll see you again in your inbox this coming Sunday.

Struggle can be part of our story, but shame does not have to be

I want to express my sincere gratitude and appreciation for the responses I’ve received to my last chapter titled Healthcare professionals are humans, too.

Like so many humans, my life has been filled with ebbs and flow of struggle and shame.

Like so many, struggle and shame have kept me silent.

Until I one day decided that what I had to share was worthy of being spoken and written.

So I picked up the pen and reclaimed rightful authorship of my story again.

I spoke. And I wrote. And I haven’t stopped.

Because there is no ghost writer for the story of me.

Writing is where the duality of life lives is for me. And I choose to live.

Part of my own healing journey is to rise up out of shame and struggle by writing and sharing my story. Through this, I’ve realized that struggle can be part of our stories, but shame does not have to be. I believe this is how we uproot and release shame — by sharing and connecting. Shame thrives in isolation, but dies in connection. When we share our stories courageously and vulnerably, we give others permission to do the same. Allowing ourselves to be seen is how we can see others.

This is a big part of my mission here at Humans in Healthcare — to invite you in to a moments and movements of more courage, more curiosity, and more compassion, through common humanity.

As buddhist nun Pema Chödrön so beautifully tells us

Compassion is not a relationship between the healer and the wounded. It's a relationship between equals. Only when we know our own darkness well can we be present with the darkness of others. Compassion becomes real when we recognize our shared humanity

Pema Chödrön

In the duality of light and darkness, we find our equality. And our humanity.

It is only because I’ve been in my own darkness that I can shine the light for you in yours.

So, I encourage you to pick up your pen and reclaim rightful authorship of your story again.

Because someone needs to hear your story as much as you need to tell it.

You can’t rush your healing

The second thing I wanted to share is this phrase that’s been on my mind: you can’t rush your healing.

Patients seek out medical professionals for healing.

But do you know who else needs healing? Medical professionals.

Many of us have heard of the recent tragedy of Dr. Krystal Cascetta, an oncologist in NYC who died from suicide. Tragically, her baby died as well, consistent with a murder suicide.

It is a tragic loss and much grieving and healing will be needed.

Often times, as medical professionals, we’re not afforded adequate grieving or healing from the daily traumas and tragedies that we can experience.

Physician suicides are rising. Trauma within healthcare, both for patients and professionals, is rising.

I don’t know what it will take other than reprioritizing our focus on caring for everyone - the people who need care AND the people who care for people.

Normalizing the humanity of struggle and that no one is immune.

I don’t have answers, but I can create the space for questions and connection.

If you’re struggling today, I want to acknowledge:

you are not alone

it’s ok to take it slow

you can’t rush your healing

it takes time for good things to grow

your story isn't over

the rest is yet to be written

so please pick up the paper

and pen

and write your own story again

you are not alone, friend

Help is available if you need someone to talk to:

Call or text 988 or text TALK to 741741

And for healthcare professionals, here are specific resources for you

Music can be part of healing

If you’ve been subscribed since the inception of this newsletter, you know I love music. If you’re new — now you know :) It has been integral to my own healing. I will continue to infuse it in chapters here from time to time and today, I’m sharing this song with you called You can’t rush your healing by artist Trevor Hall. It may not be your taste, but the words are validating to anyone going through "a chapter of darker, darker days”, as he sings.

Healing is an art and so is humanity.

Many of us need it, both professionals and patients.

We heal in connection and community.

We heal by sharing our stories.

We heal by writing them.

Pick up the pen, and write again, friend.

💜

In humanity,

Amy

Thanks for reading! Do you have a story to share? Let me know here. This is as much your space as it is mine. I want to elevate and empower you by sharing your story. This could be about your story as a healthcare professional, patient journey, caregiving experience, or how you are using your clinical skills in creative ways. If you have a story to share, want to be featured, or want to collaborate, I invite you to let me know here!

PS. asking for help is not easy, but I’m shooting my shot:

1️⃣ Please give Humans in Healthcare a follow! I’ll be posting thought provoking questions there and would love for you to join in the dialogue. More to come on the community front

2️⃣ Share the newsletter. The more bridges we build, the more sustainable healthcare can become for me and for you.

Reply

or to participate.