Resume and hiring tips for clinicians pivoting into non-clinical roles

from a physical therapist turned healthcare recruiter

with Rachel Brown, PT, DPT and healthcare recruiter

Rachel, I often describe my career journey as a path that doesn’t replicate many, if any. I can imagine you might feel similar as you are a former physical therapist turned healthcare recruiter. Tell us your story of your clinical transition!

Yes, my journey is similar in that it is a unique path. Ironically, I am a PT with a back injury. I underwent two major surgeries in 2019 and was unable to return to patient care. Fast forward to my recovery (which was also during the middle of the pandemic), I knew I needed to look into remote opportunities. After hours upon hours of research and countless failed attempts at applying to numerous nonclinical positions, I stumbled upon Healthcare Recruiting and felt like it could be a good fit given my clinical background. I was told by several Recruiting companies that I didn’t have experience and ultimately was rejected until I decided to take a leap and join a franchise opportunity. 

Many clinicians will say that having their clinical credentials on their resume when applying for non-clinical roles seems to impact them negatively because they get boxed into their clinical experience instead of being seen in a different light.
Does having your clinical credential impact you negatively?

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Humans in Healthcare to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now

Reply

or to participate.